29 October 2009

Cover Me

BBC6 Music and The Guardian are reporting that Peter Gabriel will release his first album in seven years in Spring 2010. The intriguing project is labelled Scratch My Back, a work composer John Metcalfe describes as a "song swap with some of the world's most legendary artists." Metcalfe confirms that he worked on orchestral arrangements of other artists' tunes, and that the record, produced by Bob Ezrin, will include full orchestra or more minimalist chamber treatments, sans guitars, drums and world instruments. Rumors abound on whether the selections will include participation of the songwriters themselves.

For now, this leaked track list - though by no means confirmed by Gabriel's representatives - will whet your appetite:

1. "Heroes" (David Bowie)
2. "Street Spirit" (Radiohead)
3. "The Book of Love" (Magnetic Fields)
4. "Flume" (Bon Iver)
5. "My Body Is a Cage" (Arcade Fire)
6. "Listening Wind" (Talking Heads)
7. "I Think It's Going to Rain Today" (Randy Newman)
8. "Apr├Ęs Moi" (Regina Spektor or Eartha Kitt)
9. "Waterloo Sunset" (The Kinks)
10. "The Boy in the Bubble" (Paul Simon)
11. "The Power of the Heart" (Lou Reed)
12. "Philadelphia" (Neil Young)
13. "Mirrorball" (Elbow)

No comments:

Post a Comment