08 September 2010

The xx Wins Mercury Prize

Back in July, we gave you a run-down of the nominees for The Mercury Prize, the accolade given out each year for best album of the year in the UK and Ireland. Yesterday, The xx was pronounced the winner by UK/Eire musicians and industry people for their self-titled debut, edging out such worthy competition as Mumford & Sons, Villagers and Laura Marling.

The xx joins an impressive list of previous winners of The Mercury Prize:
1992 - Primal Scream, Screamadelica
1993 - Suede, Suede
1994 - M People, Elegant Slumming
1995 - Portishead, Dummy
1996 - Pulp, Different Class
1997 - Roni Size/Reprazent, New Forms
1998 - Gomez, Bring It On
1999 - Talvin Singh, Ok
2000 - Badly Drawn Boy, The Hour of Bewilderbeast
2001 - PJ Harvey, Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea
2002 - Ms. Dynamite, A Little Deeper
2003 - Dizzee Rascal, Boy in da Corner
2004 - Franz Ferdinand, Franz Ferdinand
2005 - Antony and the Johnsons, I Am A Bird Now
2006 - Arctic Monkeys, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not
2007 - Klaxons, Myths of the Near Future
2009 - Speech Debelle, Speech Therapy
2010 - The xx, xx

No comments:

Post a Comment