15 July 2010

Roxy Music Reunite (Sort Of) (WITH UPDATE!)

The Guardian reports that the new Bryan Ferry album, titled Olympia, will drop on 25 October, with first single "You Can Dance" scheduled for release on 9 August. The record will consist of all originals, save cover versions of Traffic's "No Face, No Name, No Number" and Tim Buckley's "Song To The Siren."

The collaborators revealed thus far for Olympia are in the all-star catagory: Johnny Greenwood (Radiohead), David Gilmour (Pink Floyd), Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Nile Rodgers (Chic), Mani (Primal Scream) and Scissor Sisters.

But the real interest revolves around Ferry's first collaboration since 1973's For Your Pleasure with former Roxy Music mates Brian Eno, Phil Manzanera and Andy Mackay (Eno wasn't involved in the other Roxy-labelled records subsequent, including the seminal Avalon). The songs involving the four apparently are the remnants of a reunion attempt that was shelved. As Ferry told The Times of London back in November, "We worked together for a few days, weeks maybe, and I decided I didn't really want to do a Roxy thing."

Roxy Music headlines the Lovebox Festival in Victoria Park, London this Saturday, 17 July and the sold-out Bestival on the Isle of Wight on 11 September. In addition, here are the other dates on the abbreviated Roxy Music tour schedule:
31 July - Japan - Fuji Rock
8 August - Belgium - Lokerse
27 August - Holland - Lots Festival
29 August - Paris - Rock En Seine
1 September - Bonn - Solarworld
3 September - Portlaoise, Co. Laois, Republic of Ireland - Electric Picnic
And MOJO now reports that dates have been set for a short UK tour in January and February 2011:
Newcastle Arena (January 25)
Glasgow Clyde Auditorium (27)
Glasgow Clyde Auditorium (28)
Manchester MEN Arena (30)
Birmingham LG Arena (31)
Nottingham Arena (February 2)
London O2 Arena (7)

No comments:

Post a Comment